State System

Bulgaria is a parliamentary republic. According to the Constitution, which was adopted in July 1991, the entire power of the state shall derive from the people and shall be exerted directly and through the bodies established by the Constitution. The Constitution proclaims pluralism of political views and freedom of religion.
The supreme legislative body in the country is the National Assembly, which exercises parliamentary control over the government.
The President is the Head of State. He is elected through direct and secret ballot for a five-year term of office, and he personifies the unity of the nation.
The Council of Ministers is the supreme executive body for home and foreign affairs.
The territory of the Republic of Bulgaria is divided into nine administrative regions and smaller municipalities. The municipality is the primary territorial administrative unit, being a legal entity where local self-government is exercised through a municipal council elected by the respective local community population for a four-year term of office.